1994 San Marino Grand Prix, it’s been 15 years …

Ayrton Senna before the start of 1994 San Marino GP

Ayrton Senna before the start of 1994 San Marino GP

This weekend will mark 15th anniversary of the tragic 1994 San Marino Grand Prix when Roland Ratzenberger and Ayrton Senna lost their lives.

April 30 and May 1, 1994, it’s been 15 years…

Photo: Williams/LAT

Some more of the cost talk – How Formula 2 compares with Formula 1 ?

Robert Wickens will race in Formula 2 in Red Bull colours

Robert Wickens will race in Formula 2 in Red Bull colours

Red Bullog had a post on Red Bull’s junior driver Robert Wickens signing up for the 2009 Formula 2 championship. The first thought I had was how can Red Bull afford yet another open wheeler series. So, I did some quick math. I used the 2008 Red Bull F1 budgets as listed by Keith, the Formula 2 cost as listed on F2 website and did some currency conversions:


What is the difference between GP2 and Formula 2 ?

Karun Chandhok GP2 Monza 2008

Karun Chandhok GP2 Monza 2008

Earlier this year, at the height of the Mosleygate came a surprising piece of news from FIA – plans to revive the Formula 2 series. Thanks to the timing of the announcement it was almost immediately considered to be just another shot fired in the Bernie vs. Max war. Thanks to the planned low budget (£195,000 per car) it was also almost immediately branded as impossible. Things have however moved ahead. Jonathan Palmer’s MotorSport Vision has been selected to run the series and the plans for 2009 season were announced last weekend including the 2009 FIA Formula Two Championship calendar (see the bottom of this post).

Many people are a bit confused with this Formula 2 thing especially when there already exists rather successful Formula 1 feeder series – GP2. So what are the differences between current GP2 series and the planned Formula 2 championship ?


Formula Two closer to reality ?

Formula 2 LogoThe FIA announced the winner of the Formula Two chassis and engine supplier tender – MotorSport Vision (MSV):

MotorSport Vision (MSV) has won the tender to supply chassis and engines for the new FIA Formula Two Championship, following a fax vote of the FIA World Motor Sport Council. As part of the winning tender it has been agreed that MSV will be the promoter of the Championship as well as the operating entity for all of the cars.
MSV has commissioned WilliamsF1 to design the car, which will incorporate a turbocharged 1.8 litre Audi engine and be built to Formula One-level safety standards. The first prototype car is on schedule for its testing debut in November 2008, with the Championship due to start in May 2009 and comprising 16 races over eight events. Performance levels will be between Formula Three and Formula One and the cost per competing driver will be less than €250,000.


F2, F3000 and GP2 Winners in Formula 1

GP2 Logo2008 will be the third year in a row when a feeder series champion makes the step up to Formula 1 – In 2005 Vitantonio Liuzzi (2004 F3000 champion) raced few races for Red Bull (alternating with Christian Klien). Frank Williams signed 2005 GP2 champion Nico Rosberg from the 2006 season. The 2006 GP2 champion Lewis Hamilton raced for McLaren in 2007 F1 season. Timo Glock will return to F1 in 2008 after winning the GP2 championship in 2007.

Lewis Hamilton wasted a glorious opportunity to become the first ever champion of one of the F1 feeder series to win the F1 title. Yes, no Formula 2, Formula 3000 or GP2 champion ever won Formula 1 title. Almost all of them however raced in Formula 1. The only four without F1 start are Jörg Müller, Bruno Junqueira, Björn Wirdheim and Sébastien Bourdais.

Several of them will be on the grid in 2008 F1 season – Nick Heidfeld, Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg, Timo Glock, Sébastien Bourdais are confirmed. Vitantonio Liuzzi’s chances for 2008 drive are slim, but his F1 career may not be over yet. Will any of this guys be the first one to break the pattern ?

Here is the list of all Formula 2 (from 1967), Formula 3000 and GP2 title winners, with their F1 achievements:



2013 Teams and Drivers

Red Bull
1. Sebastian VETTEL
3. Fernando ALONSO
4. Felipe MASSA
5. Jenson BUTTON
6. Sergio PEREZ
8. Romain GROSJEAN
10. Lewis HAMILTON
12. Esteban GUTIEREZ
Force India
14. Paul di RESTA
15. Adrian SUTIL
16. Pastor MALDONADO
17. Valtteri BOTTAS
Toro Rosso
18. Daniel RICCIARDO
19. Jean Eric VERGNE
20. Charles PIC
21. Giedo van der GARDE
24. Jules BIANCHI

2013 F1 Calendar

15-17 March - Australia
22-24 March - Malaysia
12-14 April - China
19-21 April - Bahrain
10-12 May - Spain
23-26 May - Monaco
07-09 June - Canada
28-30 June - Great Britain
5-7 July - Germany
26-28 July - Hungary
23-25 August - Belgium
06-08 September - Italy
20-22 September - Singapore
04-06 October - Korea
11-13 October - Japan
25-27 October - India
01-03 November - Abu Dhabi
15-17 November - USA
22-24 November - Brazil


2010 Mercedes GP F1 Merchandise