2010 F1 Drivers – Pedro de la Rosa confirmed by BMW Sauber

Contrary to reports that Giancarlo Fisichella is closing on the race seat with Sauber the Hinwill team has picked Pedro de la Rosa to partner the rookie driver Kamui Kobayashi for the 2010 season.

“Pedro has spent many years working for a top team at the highest technical level. We as a team stand to gain from his experience, and the same goes for young Kamui. The combination of a seasoned racer and an up-and-coming young driver has repeatedly proved a very fruitful one. I don’t expect either of them to disappoint in 2010. Of course it is also crucial that we provide them with a decent car; I feel positive about our in-house progress on that front too. We were able to continue work on our 2010 car as scheduled throughout the recent period of uncertainty.” – Peter Sauber

“I always firmly believed I would be given another chance as a team driver. Since the number of test drives were radically reduced, this was what I was working towards. I’m really excited about the season with Peter Sauber’s team, which has been a solid fixture in Formula One ever since 1993.” – Pedro de la Rosa

Pedro de la Rosa, the 38-year-old Spaniard,has 71 Grands Prix under his belt and worked with McLaren as a test and reserve driver for seven years from 2003 through to 2009. During that period he raced for McLaren the team in nine Grands Prix. In 2005 he finished fifth in Bahrain (substituting for injured JP Montoya) and claimed the fastest race lap. In 2006 he stepped in after Montoya left F1. In eight races he scored 19 points and took second place in the wet Hungarian Grand Prix.

De la Rosa made his first Grand Prix debut in Australia in 1999 for Arrows following his test driver job with Jordan a year earlier. He moved to Jaguar for the 2001 and 2002 seasons. Then came his testing days with McLaren.

The last quality race seat remains with Renault. There is also Nick Heidfeld still without a drive for 2010 season.

Photo: F1Wolf.com

One Comments Post a Comment
  1. I guess this training restriction is helping the drivers who already raced a f1 before, since a newcomer wouldn’t be allowed to do many tests


2013 Teams and Drivers

Red Bull
1. Sebastian VETTEL
3. Fernando ALONSO
4. Felipe MASSA
5. Jenson BUTTON
6. Sergio PEREZ
8. Romain GROSJEAN
10. Lewis HAMILTON
12. Esteban GUTIEREZ
Force India
14. Paul di RESTA
15. Adrian SUTIL
16. Pastor MALDONADO
17. Valtteri BOTTAS
Toro Rosso
18. Daniel RICCIARDO
19. Jean Eric VERGNE
20. Charles PIC
21. Giedo van der GARDE
24. Jules BIANCHI

2013 F1 Calendar

15-17 March - Australia
22-24 March - Malaysia
12-14 April - China
19-21 April - Bahrain
10-12 May - Spain
23-26 May - Monaco
07-09 June - Canada
28-30 June - Great Britain
5-7 July - Germany
26-28 July - Hungary
23-25 August - Belgium
06-08 September - Italy
20-22 September - Singapore
04-06 October - Korea
11-13 October - Japan
25-27 October - India
01-03 November - Abu Dhabi
15-17 November - USA
22-24 November - Brazil


2010 Mercedes GP F1 Merchandise