2010 Season countdown – 100 days to go – Sauber on the grid

100 days to go

It is 100 days to go before the 2010 Formula One season kicks off in Bahrain. The 2010 season countdown begins. Let’s have a look where F1 stands with 100 days to go:


As of today there are thirteen teams with confirmed entries – the 2010 grid is full again. The final place on the grid was given to post BMW era Sauber today by FIA.

The FIA has written to inform BMW Sauber AG that their application for an entry in the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship has been successful. Subject to their signing the Concorde Agreement, BMW Sauber will be awarded the 13th entry in the Championship, taking the place of the departing Toyota team.

The FIA has worked closely with the Commercial Rights Holder and the teams involved over recent weeks and is grateful for their support in achieving the best outcome for the sport.

An updated Formula One entry list will be published in due course.

Renault is to make decision on their F1 future before the end of 2010. There are reports all over the web coming from reputable sources that as early as today a sale of Renault F1 team to David Richards’ Prodrive may be announced.

The 2010 grid will be very different from the 2009 one. Gone will be Brawn GP will turn into Mercedes GP, BMW Sauber to Ferrari powered Sauber, Toyota will disappear entirely and Cosworth will replace Toyota power in Williams cars. There will also be change at Toro Rosso. After years of using Red Bull built chassis the team will turn into proper constructor from next season and build their own car in Faenza factory. USF1, Manor (Virgin Racing), Campos META and Lotus (all Cosworth powered) will join the established teams on the 2010 grid.


At this moment Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton (McLaren), Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), Felipe Massa, Fernando Alonso (Ferrari), Robert Kubica (Renault ?), Rubens Barrichello, Nico Hulkenberg (Williams), Mark Webber, Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull), Sebastian Buemi (Toro Rosso), Vitantonio Liuzzi , Adrian Sutil (Force India), Bruno Senna (Campos META) and Timo Glock (Manor Virgin) have been officially confirmed by their teams. There are still 10 vacant seats available (if we count Sauber and that one seat in USF1 conditionally given to Jose Maria Lopez). None of them will probably go to Kimi Raikkonen who following the breakdown of talks with McLaren decided to take a year off F1 and is expected to race in WRC in Red Bull backed Citroen junior team next year.


We are yet to see the final version of 2010 Formula One calendar. As it stands today, with 100 days to go, the season will start on March 14, 2010 in Bahrain and finish 6 months later, on November 14, 2010 in Brazil. Canadian GP will return after one year absence (June 13) but there are still question marks over British and Korean GP. So we still don’t know if the 2010 season will have 17, 18 or 19 races …

The 2010 season countdown will return in 10 days time.

4 Comments Post a Comment
  1. zblkhwkNo Gravatar says:

    What is the official day to start testing again?

    • F1WolfNo Gravatar says:

      testing can start on January 1st, but I am not sure what dates the pre-season test sessions are scheduled for. All I found is a one test scheduled for Barcelona on Feb 25 – 28 but that is only 2 weeks before the first race of 2010 season.  There should be more tests before that.

  2. zblkhwkNo Gravatar says:

    How can they not be on the track on Jan. 1 in force?  That should be a key date to see how the new teams are progressing.

    • F1WolfNo Gravatar says:

      How can they not be on the track on Jan. 1 in force?  That should be a key date to see how the new teams are progressing.

      to get out on track will require a car. I believe that none of new teams will have cars ready that early. Lotus team boss Tony Fernandes said that his car will only be ready early Feb, he will have nothing to display even at that planned joint car launch at the end Jan


2013 Teams and Drivers

Red Bull
1. Sebastian VETTEL
3. Fernando ALONSO
4. Felipe MASSA
5. Jenson BUTTON
6. Sergio PEREZ
8. Romain GROSJEAN
10. Lewis HAMILTON
12. Esteban GUTIEREZ
Force India
14. Paul di RESTA
15. Adrian SUTIL
16. Pastor MALDONADO
17. Valtteri BOTTAS
Toro Rosso
18. Daniel RICCIARDO
19. Jean Eric VERGNE
20. Charles PIC
21. Giedo van der GARDE
24. Jules BIANCHI

2013 F1 Calendar

15-17 March - Australia
22-24 March - Malaysia
12-14 April - China
19-21 April - Bahrain
10-12 May - Spain
23-26 May - Monaco
07-09 June - Canada
28-30 June - Great Britain
5-7 July - Germany
26-28 July - Hungary
23-25 August - Belgium
06-08 September - Italy
20-22 September - Singapore
04-06 October - Korea
11-13 October - Japan
25-27 October - India
01-03 November - Abu Dhabi
15-17 November - USA
22-24 November - Brazil


2010 Mercedes GP F1 Merchandise