Singapore Grands Prix Of The Past

As a part of the Countdown to Singapore Grand Prix I will be refreshing some older posts on the Singapore GP topic. Here is the first one, originally published on F1Wolf on September 2, 2007 focusing on the history of the Singapore Grand Prix. Yes, there is history.

Singapore will be hosting its first Formula 1 race in 2008 but it will not be its first Grand Prix. The Singapore Grand Prix was a regular feature in the 1960s and early 1970s.

The Formula Libre & Australian AF2 rules races were held on a Thomson Road clockwise 4.865km long clockwise street circuit.

The first Singapore Grand Prix of 1961 was won by Ian Barnwell in an Aston Martin DB3S.

The event was called Malaysian Grand Prix between 1962 and 1965.

After Singapore gained independence from Malaysia, the race was renamed back to Singapore Grand Prix.

The first Grand Prix of post independent Singapore, run to Formula Libre rules, was won by Lee Han Seng win in a Lotus 22 Lotus-Ford. The last victory in 1973 went to Vern Schuppan in a March-Ford in 1973.

Singapore Grand Prix winners 1966 – 1973
1966 – Lee Han Seng (Singapore) – Lotus 22
1967 – Rodney Seow (Singapore) – Merlyn
1968 – Garrie Cooper (Australia) – Elfin 600-Ford
1969 – Graeme Lawrence (Australia) – McLaren M4A
1970 – Graeme Lawrence (Australia) – Ferrari Dino 246
1971 – Graeme Lawrence (Australia) – Brabham BT29
1972 – Max Stewart (Australia) – Mildren Waggott
1973 – Vern Schuppan (Australia) – March 722-Hart

Related posts:
Macau GP 2007 and video links for Macau GP 2006
Works To Begin On Singapore F1 Street …
Singapore To Host A Race In 2008

6 Comments Post a Comment
  1. Anonymous says:

    Complimentary race program booklet in 1967 :-), days long gone …

  2. KaylenNo Gravatar says:

    Hi, I was wondering if you would be kind enough for me to feature this article in the upcoming website ? There will be one section on the history of Singapore Grand Prix and if you are good with it, you will be credited.

    Thank you so much. Awaiting your reply! =)


  3. Brilliant old programmes, really cool.

    Also, the track diagram reminds me of Montjuich Park somehow…

    Keith Collantines last blog post..Could Sebastien Bourdais have beaten Sebastian Vettel in the Italian GP?

  4. [...] For the history fans, here is the link to Singapore GPs of the past. [...]

  5. [...] det är visserligen första Formel 1-loppet i Singapore, men tack vare en lysande genomgång av F1wolf har jag läst till mig att det inte är första gången Singapore håller ett Grand Prix. f1gpsg [...]

2013 Teams and Drivers

Red Bull
1. Sebastian VETTEL
3. Fernando ALONSO
4. Felipe MASSA
5. Jenson BUTTON
6. Sergio PEREZ
8. Romain GROSJEAN
10. Lewis HAMILTON
12. Esteban GUTIEREZ
Force India
14. Paul di RESTA
15. Adrian SUTIL
16. Pastor MALDONADO
17. Valtteri BOTTAS
Toro Rosso
18. Daniel RICCIARDO
19. Jean Eric VERGNE
20. Charles PIC
21. Giedo van der GARDE
24. Jules BIANCHI

2013 F1 Calendar

15-17 March - Australia
22-24 March - Malaysia
12-14 April - China
19-21 April - Bahrain
10-12 May - Spain
23-26 May - Monaco
07-09 June - Canada
28-30 June - Great Britain
5-7 July - Germany
26-28 July - Hungary
23-25 August - Belgium
06-08 September - Italy
20-22 September - Singapore
04-06 October - Korea
11-13 October - Japan
25-27 October - India
01-03 November - Abu Dhabi
15-17 November - USA
22-24 November - Brazil


2010 Mercedes GP F1 Merchandise