So how exactly is it with the engine replacements ?

One of the comments below the engine stats post draw my attention to the Technical Delegate’s Report from Malaysian GP that says this:

Malaysia Technical Delegate Report

The Article 28.4a of the 2008 Formula One Sporting Regulations says this:

28.4 For the purposes of this Article and Article 28.6 only, an Event will be deemed to comprise P3, the qualifying practice session and the race.

a) Each driver may use no more than one engine for two consecutive Events in which his team competes. Other than under f) below, should a driver use a replacement engine before the end of the qualifying practice session he will drop ten places on the starting grid at that Event and an additional ten places each time a further engine is used.

Unless the driver fails to finish the race (see below) the engine fitted to the car at the end of the Event must remain in it until the end of the next Event. Any driver who failed to finish the race at the first of the two Events for reasons which the technical delegate accepts as being beyond the control of the team or driver, may start the second with a different engine without a penalty being incurred.

An engine will be deemed to have been used once the car’s timing transponder has shown that it has left the pit lane.

This is the list of the drivers that did not finish Australian GP:

7. S. Bourdais – Toro Rosso + 3 laps
8. K. Raikkonen – Ferrari + 5 laps
9. R. Kubica – BMW Sauber + 10 laps
10. T. Glock – Toyota + 14 laps
11. T. Sato – Super Aguri + 27 laps
12. N. Piquet – Renault + 28 laps
13. F. Massa – Ferrari + 29 laps
14. D. Coulthard – Red Bull + 33 laps
15. J. Trulli – Toyota + 38 laps
16. A. Sutil – Force India + 49 laps
17. M. Webber – Red Bull + 57 laps
18. J. Button – Honda + 57 laps
19. A. Davidson – Super Aguri + 58 laps
20. S. Vettel – Toro Rosso + 58 laps
21. G. Fisichella – Force India + 58 laps
22. R. Barrichello – Honda – no time

How did the technical delegate came to conclusion that only Kimi Raikkonen, Felipe Massa, Robert Kubica, Nelson Piquet, Jarno Trulli and Timo Glock are in conformity with Article 28.4a of the 2008 Formula One Sporting Regulations ? How could for example Bourdais start the Malaysian GP with the same engine that he blew up in Melbourne ? I would appreciate some help here because I admit this did confuse me. The engine stats as I believed were correct are here (click). Ideas on this anyone ?

5 Comments Post a Comment
  1. KeithNo Gravatar says:

    From looking at that report, the steward isn’t saying that only those drivers are entitled to change their engines, only that they are the ones who have chosen to.

    Perhaps the others left their Australia engines in for Malaysia if they weren’t damaged and hadn’t done much mileage. They may prefer to get a new engine in time for Bahrain – back to back races in Malaysia and Bahrain would be especially hard on the engines.

    Keith’s last blog post..2008 Bahrain GP preview: ducks to break

  2. SE-R AustinNo Gravatar says:

    I concur with Keith above. It is curious that Sebastian Bourdais is not included, but perhaps the reason he came to a premature end to his race was something repairable and did not necessitate an engine change. There is also the financial factor – all the drivers listed are with the big four teams with cash cows behind them. Money makes F1 go around.

  3. In every sport their are financial battles.

  4. just as long as you have some money left over for a case of beer… life is good!

  5. F1WolfNo Gravatar says:

    well, it is going to be quite a job to keep up with these stats :-)

    I amended the current situation in the table
    and left blank those who may have a choice before Bahrain. I will fill in the blanks once the official data from FIA become available sometime this weekend

2014 Teams and Drivers

Red Bull
Sebastian VETTEL
Fernando ALONSO
Adrian SUTIL
Force India
Sergio PEREZ
Felipe MASSA
Valtteri BOTTAS
Toro Rosso
Daniil KVYAT
Jean Eric VERGNE

2014 F1 Calendar

14-16 March - Australia
28-30 March - Malaysia
4-6 April - Bahrain
18-20 April - China
9-11 May - Spain
22-25 May - Monaco
6-8 June - Canada
20-22 June - Austria
4-6 July - Great Britain
18-20 July - Germany
25-27 July - Hungary
22-24 August - Belgium
5-7 September - Italy
19-21 September - Singapore
3-5 October - Japan
10-12 October - Russia
31 October-2 November - USA
7-9 November - Brazil
21-23 November - Abu Dhabi


2010 Mercedes GP F1 Merchandise
hello world