What Are McLaren Penalty Implications?

This much is obvious, McLaren is out 2007 Constructors Championship and $100mil lighter. What else does it mean?

a)They will not be classified in constructors championship, so they should get the pit garage at the looser’s end of pitlane next year.

b)They still though should be able to keep car numbers 1-2, if the driver’s champ comes from the team, and the champ stays with the team next year. But if the champion comes from Ferrari, or a McLaren champion leaves the team, their car numbers will have 2 digits and will start with ‘2’…

c)They got fined $100mil. Even if the money they would have earned this year from their Constructors Championship position is deducted from the actual fine they have to pay, it is still the same math – they will have $100mil less in their pockets. But, another point is what will they earn in 2008? The current condition for being eligible for payments is that team has to finish in top 10 in Constructor’s Championship 2 years running. So unless the teams agree on new Concorde Agreement and revenue sharing, McLaren may earn zero in 2008 too …

d)Then there are the internal frictions. They have drivers in a team, that had no problems to use the Ferrari information to their advantage, one of them had no problems to use the same information to blackmail his boss, the same guy does not speak to his boss, the fact that he used the information to his advantage in no small way lead to the punishment and financial loss of his team and unlike the team he is racing for, he can still be a World Champion. And this all came out to light as side products of the penalty, and this is something the team will have to resolve. It is hard to imagine how a boss can tolerate such an atmosphere in a team for too long…

e)And last but not least, their 2008 entry is still pending the scrutiny of their 2008 car by FIA, it is too early to tell how will that compromise their car design…


2013 Teams and Drivers

Red Bull
1. Sebastian VETTEL
3. Fernando ALONSO
4. Felipe MASSA
5. Jenson BUTTON
6. Sergio PEREZ
8. Romain GROSJEAN
10. Lewis HAMILTON
12. Esteban GUTIEREZ
Force India
14. Paul di RESTA
15. Adrian SUTIL
16. Pastor MALDONADO
17. Valtteri BOTTAS
Toro Rosso
18. Daniel RICCIARDO
19. Jean Eric VERGNE
20. Charles PIC
21. Giedo van der GARDE
24. Jules BIANCHI

2013 F1 Calendar

15-17 March - Australia
22-24 March - Malaysia
12-14 April - China
19-21 April - Bahrain
10-12 May - Spain
23-26 May - Monaco
07-09 June - Canada
28-30 June - Great Britain
5-7 July - Germany
26-28 July - Hungary
23-25 August - Belgium
06-08 September - Italy
20-22 September - Singapore
04-06 October - Korea
11-13 October - Japan
25-27 October - India
01-03 November - Abu Dhabi
15-17 November - USA
22-24 November - Brazil


2010 Mercedes GP F1 Merchandise